Types of Breast Milk


The breast milk after delivery is of three types:

  1. Colustrum – It is the thick, yellowish milk secreted in first 3 to 5 days of delivery. It is rich in proteins, minerals and protective antibodies. However, it contains low sugar and fat.
  2. Transtional Milk – It is secreted between 5th day to second week after birth. It is an intermediate stage between colustrum and mature milk.
  3. Mature Milk – It is relatively thin milk, but very nutritious for baby’s growth. It is rich in all essential components in adequate quantitiy.


Mature milk is of two types :

1- Foremilk –

  • It is thin with low viscosity.
  • Rich in high protein content.
  • It satisfy the baby’s satiety and thirst.
  • It is rich in protective antibodies that provide passive immunity to the baby.

2- Hindmilk-

  • It is relatively thick and viscous.
  • Rich in fat content. Hence, it also contains fat soluble vitamins.
  • It provides energy to the baby.
  • Being rich in all essential nutrients, it plays vital role in weight gain of the baby.

Since, both the types of milk are essential for the baby’s growth and development, feed the baby completely from one side breast in one session and then switch to the other breast in next session.


The information is shared to create awareness towards Pregnancy and Childcare to reduce maternal and child deaths. Atmost care has been taken by the author to include the verified information from authentic sources. However, kindly discuss the same with your health care provider before implementation.